top of page

4. Question the Kids

Apart from a partner, one of the most time & effort saving methods would be letting the kids figure problems on their own, which is honestly what you would want all the students in your class to be doing after a while. I find that this happens when you question the kids on the next step instead of doing everything for them. An example of this would be when one of the kids asked me how to make sure the ball bounces off the platform instead of going right through it. I asked his to look at the different options from the "ball" menu and to try and see if he could find any that met what he wanted to do. After searching for around 2 minutes he found what he wanted, pieced them together, fixed some errors and finally got it to work! His solution was even better than the one I thought of - it was a lot more concise and had other functions apart from the ball bouncing one. The moment it worked his eyes lit up, and I could tell that it was better than any other answer I had given him. From that point on, he would continuously work on his own and would only ask me if he got really really stuck, which helped him improve his coding and logic while giving me time to help the other students.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page